Who Is Your Standard?

Hebrews 12:2 KJV
[2] Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of
our faith; who for the joy that was set before him
endured the cross, despising the shame, and is
set down at the right hand of the throne of God.
I was disappointed to realize that not just a few
but a lot of Christians who are “famous” and could
have used their faith as an example of what Jesus
taught us in Matthew 7:13-14 are not doing that.
Matthew 7:13-14 KJV
[13] Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the
gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to
destruction, and many there be which go in
thereat: [14] Because strait is the gate, and
narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and
few there be that find it.

I am in no position to judge, but the Bible never
says to turn a blind eye when someone goes
wrong, no matter how experienced the person
seems to be in the faith.
In the Scriptures for example, Joab could have
saved David’s family a lot of lives if he had just
spoken out against David when the latter sent
Joab to send Uriah to his death (2 Samuel
11:14-15). Because of what David did, a curse fell
on David’s family that “the sword would never
depart from David’s house”(vv 10) because of
what David alone did. Not to mention Bathsheba
in the first place, who I think would have made a
big difference if she had spoken out like Tamar
did.
2 Samuel 13:12-14 KJV
[12] And she answered him, Nay, my brother, do
not force me; for no such thing ought to be done
in Israel: do not thou this folly. [13] And I, whither
shall I cause my shame to go? and as for thee,
thou shalt be as one of the fools in Israel. Now
therefore, I pray thee, speak unto the king; for he
will not withhold me from thee. [14] Howbeit he
would not hearken unto her voice: but, being
stronger than she, forced her, and lay with her.

That did not move Tamar’s adversary but I’m
sure David would have relented. I think the rest of
us should learn lessons from these people who lived before us. They faced similar trouble and temptations, but the Word of God is still our standard.
Prayer: Abba Father, help me this day and every
other to make Jesus Christ my only standard. I
choose not to be moved by the bad things people, even
Christians do. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

