DOING UNTO OTHERS…

πŸ’₯πŸ’«1 Samuel 24:10
[David says] Behold, this day your eyes have seen how the Lord gave you today into my hand in the cave. And some told me to kill you, but I spared you. I said, β€˜I will not put out my hand against my lord, for he is the Lord’s anointed.’
πŸ’₯πŸ’«2 Samuel 18:12
But the man said to Joab, β€œEven if I felt in my hand the weight of a thousand pieces of silver, I would not reach out my hand against the king’s son, for in our hearing the king [David] commanded you and Abishai and Ittai, β€˜For my sake protect the young man Absalom.’

In the first verse, David’s men urged him to kill Saul; afterall God had told him he [David] would be king, which was made worse by Saul’s negative attitude toward David. But David resisted. Later, [possibly one of the same servants present] refused to obey David’s highest soldier Joab’s order to kill David’s enemy, Absalom[David’s son]. Even though Joab killed Absalom anyway, a lesson here is that David’s attitude toward Saul affected his servant’s attitude towards his son. When David feared God and refused to kill Saul, he unwittingly set an example for his followers on how they should treat him. The way you treat others, tells how you want to be treated. In other words, the measure you mete out to others, the same shall be measured unto you. Therefore, do unto others as you want others to do unto you.

Leave a Reply

